Payment & Court Options
The amount of fine the court assesses is determined by the facts and circumstances of the case. The maximum fine for most municipal court traffic violations is $200 plus court costs; for misdemeanor state law violations--$500 plus court costs; for certain city ordinance violations--$2,000 plus court costs; and for other city ordinance violations--$500 plus court costs.
Pursuant to Texas Local Government Code Section 133.103, the Court is required to collect a $15 fee on each conviction for which "time to pay" is granted. If any part of the total amount of fines, fees, and court costs is paid on or after the 31st day, that time payment fee will be assessed per state statute.
If a warrant is issued, the fine may increase, and an additional $50 fee is also assessed.
If your citation is in warrant over 60 days, an additional 30% fee will be added to each case being sent to collections.
PAY A TICKET
Payments can be made online through Traffic Payment
Phone payment Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Call Toll-Free 1-800-444-1187
DEFERRED DISPOSITION REQUIREMENTS
- The defendant must enter a plea of no contest or guilty and make a request to the court for deferred disposition.
- The request for deferred disposition must be made by the due date on citation.
- The amount of the bond, court cost and fee must be paid at the time of the request.
- When a request is made to the court in a timely manner and all requirements are met, the defendant may be granted deferred disposition.
- Expired driver’s license – proof of renewal within 20 working days of the offense. $20 dismissal fee.
- No driver’s license or no proof of financial responsibility (insurance) – proof of your valid driver’s license or proof of financial responsibility (insurance) on the date and time of the offense.
- Expired motor vehicle registration – proof that you registered the vehicle within 20 working days and proof that you paid the late fee as shown on your receipt from the vehicle registration office. – $20 dismissal fee.
DRIVER SAFETY COURSE
If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to ask the judge to take a drivers safety course to dismiss the charge. The request must be made on or before the appearance date on the citation. (if you are under age 17, you must appear in open court with a parent or guardian to make a request) If you were operating a motorcycle, you may be required to take a motorcycle operator’s training course. At the time of the request, you must do the following:
- Pled Guilt or No Contest
- Pay Court Costs
- 160.00 in speeding in school zone
- Present proof of financial responsibility (insurance)
- Present a valid Texas Driver's License or permit. (Active military and spouses or dependent children of active military may present a valid driver's license from any state.)
Unless you are entitled to a compliance dismissal, you must enter one of the following pleas:
Plea of Not Guilty – A plea of not guilty means that you deny guilt an require the State to prove the charge. A plea of not guilty does not waive any of your rights. A plea of not guilty does not prevent a plea of guilty or no contest at a later time.
Plea of Guilty – By plea of guilty, you admit that you committed the criminal offense charged.
Plea of Nolo Contendere (no contest) – A plea of nolo contendere means that you do not contest the states charge against you.
EXTENSION OF PAYMENT
If you need an extension of time to pay a fine, you must request it when you make your plea. The court will grant you 30 days to pay the fine.
If you require more than 30 days, you will need to request a payment agreement. A fee of $15 will be added for each offense, as required by state law.
Daingerfield Municipal Court
101 Linda Drive Daingerfield, TX 75638